For those
who can’t
stop riding

Sale, épuisé, en liesse – nous connaissons tous le sentiment à la fin d’un sentier. Le VTT nous unit à bien des égards, mais surtout un – notre passion pour le VTT.

Nous sommes dépendant à la poussée d’adrénaline et la joie nous fait revenir pour plus. Alors, qu’est-ce qui vous retient? Allons-y pour un de plus!

For those who can’t stop riding: no more excuses.

Niché dans le triangle de l’Allemagne, de la Suisse et de la France, à proximité des belles Vosges françaises et des Alpes suisses, notre arrière-cour est un terrain d’essai éprouvé de terrain technique. Notre vision: passer du bon temps dehors sur le VTT, quelles que soient les conditions. Notre mission: fabriquer des produits VTT confortables, durables et fiables. Lorsque vous avez le bon équipement, vous passerez des moments incroyables à l’extérieur.

La petite équipe de notre entreprise spécialisée dans le VTT travaille avec passion pour offrir une gamme complète de produits techniques et adaptés à tous.

À bientôt dehors.
dirtlej

FAQ

La conception, le prototypage et les tests de nos produits ont lieu dans notre siège social en Allemagne.

Nous travaillons ensuite en étroite collaboration avec des fournisseurs en Asie et en Europe, pour trouver les meilleurs matériaux possibles pour soutenir nos produits. Nos produits sont fabriqués avec précision dans les usines de nos partenaires en Chine, au Vietnam, au Portugal et en Italie, avec des spécialistes qualifiés qui réalisent la production.

L’Asie est leader dans la fabrication technique d’extérieur, et nous sélectionnons avec soin des partenaires qui partagent nos valeurs et apportent de nouvelles technologies et capacités qui nous permettent d’évoluer. La qualité, la durabilité et la réputation de nos équipements témoignent de la qualité de nos partenaires de fabrication et de leur expertise exceptionnelle.

Fabriquer nos produits là où nous nous approvisionnons en matières premières contribue à limiter leur empreinte environnementale en réduisant la distance que les différentes pièces doivent parcourir.

Tout ce qui n’est pas un équipement étanche fonctionnel provient et est produit en Europe. Le Portugal et l’Italie sont bien connus pour leur fabrication de vêtements, et nous sélectionnons avec soin des partenaires qui partagent nos valeurs et apportent de nouvelles technologies et capacités qui nous permettent d’évoluer. La qualité, la durabilité et la réputation de nos équipements témoignent de la qualité de nos partenaires de fabrication et de leur expertise exceptionnelle.

Fabriquer nos produits là où nous nous approvisionnons en matières premières contribue à limiter leur empreinte environnementale en réduisant la distance que les différentes pièces doivent parcourir.

La saleté et la sueur nuisent à la respirabilité des matériaux fonctionnels. Enlevez les saletés les plus grossières à l’avant et lavez-les à 30° Celsius max, essorez-les à 400 tr/min, laissez-les sécher à température ambiante, séchez-les au sèche-linge à basse température (selon le produit), puis imprégnez- les éventuellement. N’utilisez qu’un détergent respectueux de la membrane (voir dirtlej washit), les assouplissants détruisent la membrane.

L’emballage est important pour protéger nos produits de l’humidité et de la poussière lorsqu’ils sont expédiés, stockés puis livrés. C’est un équilibre constant entre la protection du produit et la minimisation des coûts environnementaux de l’emballage lui-même (intensité des ressources dans la fabrication, capacité à être réutilisé/recyclé, fin de vie).

Depuis le début, nous n’utilisons que du carton 100% recyclé et recyclable ou du papier sans arbre pour toutes les étiquettes, emballages et expéditions. Nous réutilisons toutes les boîtes dans la mesure du possible et détruisons toutes les boîtes que nous n’avons plus besoin d’utiliser comme remplissage dans nos emballages.

Les produits laissés par le développement, les tests ou les séances photo représentent des ressources – tissu, temps et énergie – qui ne sont plus utilisées mais toujours utiles. En mettant ces produits en circulation, nous pouvons réduire les déchets inutiles et vous serez le seul à avoir cette pièce unique. Bien sûr, la disponibilité est limitée, si vous êtes intéressé, contactez-nous.

Nos produits ne sont pas des combinaisons étanches – une goutte d’eau peut toujours s’infiltrer, par exemple au bout des fermetures éclair.

Les fermetures à glissière sont des pièces d’usure – plus une fermeture à glissière est traitée avec soin, plus elle dure longtemps. (par exemple, enlever la saleté avant d’ouvrir/fermer, ne pas déchirer, traiter avec un produit d’entretien contenant du silicone)

L’abrasion est normale - si du sable se trouve, par exemple, entre la selle et le produit, il a un effet comparable au papier de verre. Cette abrasion survient lors d’une utilisation normale.

Le détergent est la clé – utilisez UNIQUEMENT un détergent pour les vêtements fonctionnels. L’assouplissant détruit la membrane. (en savoir plus sur l’entretien du produit)

Nos produits n’ont pas d’autorisation pour les S-Pedelecs.

dirtlej est un portemanteau de trois mots qui représentent notre marque. ‘dirt’, comme acteur clé de notre passion, ‘le’, pour Lena et ‘j’ pour Jan, les deux fondateurs.

Ce site web utilise des cookies. Votre utilisation ultérieure de ce site Web constituera votre accord sur l'utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus sur notre utilisation des cookies

Ok

For those
who can’t
stop riding

Dirty, exhausted, cheering – we all know the feeling at the end of a trail. Mountain biking unites us in many ways, but especially one – our passion for riding.

We’re addicts to the adrenaline rush and the joy keeps us coming back for more. So, what’s holding you back? Let’s go for one more!

For those who can’t stop riding: no more excuses.

Nestled in the triangle of Germany, Switzerland and France, close to the beautiful French Vosges and the Swiss Alpes, our backyard is a proven testing ground of technical terrain. Our vision: to have a great time outside on the bike, no matter what conditions. Our mission: to build comfortable, durable and reliable mountain bike products. When you have the right gear, you’ll have the most amazing time outside.

The small team of our mountain bike specific company works with passion to offer a full range of technically driven and tailored product for everyone.

See you outside.
dirtlej

FAQ

Design, prototyping and testing of our products takes place at our main office in Germany.

We then work closely with suppliers in Asia and Europe, to source the best possible materials for our products. Our products are precision made at our partner’s factories in China, Vietnam, Portugal and Italy, with skilled specialists carrying out the production.

Asia is leading in technical outdoor manufacturing, and we carefully select partners who share our values and bring new technologies and capabilities that allow us to evolve. The quality, durability and reputation of our gear stands testament to the quality of our manufacturing partners and their outstanding expertise.

Manufacturing our products where we source the raw materials helps to limit their environmental footprint by reducing the distance the different parts need to travel.

Everything that is not functional waterproof gear is sourced and produced in Europe. Portugal and Italy are well-know for their apparel manufacturing, and we carefully select partners who share our values and bring new technologies and capabilities that allow us to evolve. The quality, durability and reputation of our gear stands testament to the quality of our manufacturing partners and their outstanding expertise.

Manufacturing our products where we source the raw materials helps to limit their environmental footprint by reducing the distance the different parts need to travel.

Dirt and sweat impair the breathability of functional materials. Remove the coarser dirt upfront and wash it with 30° celsius max, spin-dry with 400rpm, let it dry at room temperature, tumble dry at low temperature (depending on the product), eventually impregnate it afterwards.Use membrane-friendly detergent only (see dirtlej washit), fabric softeners destroy the membrane.

Packaging is important in protecting our products from moisture and dust when they are shipped, stored and then delivered. It is a constant balancing act between protecting the product and minimizing the environmental costs of the packaging itself (resource intensity in manufacturing, ability to be reused/ recycled, end-of-life).

Since the beginning we have only used 100% recycled and recyclable cardboard or tree-free paper for all labels, packaging and shipping. We reuse all boxes where possible and shred any boxes that are no longer needed to use as filler in our packages.

Products, left over from development, testing or photoshoots represent resources – fabric, time, and energy – no longer in use but still useful. By getting these products into circulation, we can reduce unnecessary waste and you will be the only one with this single piece. Of course, availability is limited, if you’re interested, just get in touch.

Our products aren’t drysuits – a drip of water can always make it through, eg, at the end of the zippers.

Zippers are wearing parts – the more careful a zipper is treated, the longer it lasts. (eg, remove dirt before opening/closing, don’t tear it, treat it with a care product containing silicone)

Abrasion is normal – if sand is, eg, between saddle and product it has an effect comparable to sandpaper. This abrasion arises through normal usage.

Detergent is key – use ONLY detergent for functional clothing. Fabric softener destroys the membrane. (more about productcare)

Our products don’t have clearance for S-Pedelecs.

dirtlej is a portmanteau of three words that represent our brand. ‘dirt’, as a key player of our passion, ‘le’, for Lena and ‘j’ for Jan, the two founders.

Waterproof & breathable laminates consist of a membrane laminated between two layers of fabric. The membrane forms the waterproof part of the laminate. If the outer fabric becomes saturated with water, the fabric feels damp and wet, without water actually penetrating the membrane. Another effect is that the wet fabric creates a counter-pressure on the membrane and thus significantly reduces breathability, causing sweat to collect on the inside and soak the clothing underneath. To prevent these effects, it is important that the outer fabric does not become soaked, which is achieved through a DWR treatment.

Undoubtedly, fluorocarbons offer the best functionality for DWR, but the by-products remain in the environment for a long period of time. C8 has been the industry’s preferred DWR for decades but the impact on the environment has become too huge to ignore. We and several other manufacturers have adopted C6 (shorter chain) DWR as the lesser of both evils. Its by-products break down faster in the environment and are much less toxic to life forms. Bio-based DWR alternatives have not stood the test of time, resulting in functional products with a short lifespan. A short lifespan also constitutes environmental concerns because of the need to replace these products which involve energy and water usage, waste, and GHG generation. This is not a dirtlej problem, this applies to several other brands. Our MRSL (manufacturing restricted substances list) ensures that the use of C6 in our products is well within the set standards. We will continue to search for alternatives that would offer the highest functionality with the least possible effect on our environment.

Since 2021, our team consists of a sustainability expert (MSc/Environmental sciences) who calculates our carbon footprint and advises us on steps to further reduce our already low footprint. Savings from cost-intensive certification processes in turn goes into creating new jobs and adding more talent to our existing team.

This website uses cookies. Your subsequent use of this website will constitute your agreement of the use of cookies. Learn more about our use of Cookies

Ok